

Rappahannock Area Youth Services & Group Home Commission

Regular Meeting Minutes November 16, 2023 5:00pm

I. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 5:02pm by Dr. Duffy.

II. Public Comment

No members of the public were present.

III. Approval of Minutes

Dr. Yeung motioned to approve the September 21, 2023 meeting minutes. Dr. Frazier seconded the motion. All in attendance were in favor of approval.

IV. Budget and Finances

Mr. Fearon presented the FY25 revised budget, noting that the only change was the 6% increase in salaries. He discussed the year-to-date financial report, and reported that the agency is on track from last year. Of note, he discussed the PASS and CYC revenue for the past month, and the increasing census at CYC.

He updated the membership on the grant from the Community Foundation that the agency was just awarded in the amount of \$30,000.00 for the purchase of security equipment at both the Fredericksburg Office and Chaplin Youth Center. Items to be purchased with this grant include metal detectors, an additional door/more secure entryway at Chaplin, security film for windows, and additional cameras.

V. Services Update

The program enrollment report was provided to the membership. Mr. Fearon noted the year-to-date utilization percentages by locality.

VI. Old Business

Mr. Fearon presented the updated organizational chart and discussed the succession plan in the absence of the Executive Director. He reported that he was unable to promote a Deputy Director because the funds were needed for direct care staff. The succession plan will allow for continuity in the Executive Director's absence without this extra position.

There was discussion on the hiring process for vacant positions at Chaplin, specifically the promotions of current staff members to the Residential Services Director and Assistant Director positions. They are currently in the process of hiring for their vacant positions.

Mr. Whitley suggested planning a small event for the Commission and staff to gather, so they can meet the new staff members. All were in favor of this idea, and agreed to discuss this event further after the holidays.

Mr. Fearon presented the updated CYC Overnight Crisis Protocol and discussed changes made in lieu of hiring additional staff due to the increased costs that are not sustainable with the current budget. Mr. Whitley suggested that the membership review this policy prior to the next meeting and discuss it further. Mr. Fearon informed the membership that this is the policy that is currently being implemented and will remain in place until the next meeting.

The Membership discussed the lease on the Fredericksburg office building ending in June of next year. It was decided that Mr. Fearon will speak with the landlord about renewing for one year, with the option to acquire additional space in the current building if tenants vacate. Mr. Fearon reported that there has been discussion



Rappahannock Area Youth Services & Group Home Commission

regarding hosting classes in localities to make it easier for clients to attend if there is consistent space available. Members will look into this and forward along any available spaces.

VII. New Business

The membership discussed the end of year holiday/staff appreciation gift. Dr. Yeung motioned to approve giving the same amount as last year, Mr. Whitley seconded the motion. All in attendance were in favor of approval.

VII. Comments and Announcements

The Commission Member Attendance Report was provided with the meeting documents.

VIII. Next Meeting and Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 5:30pm without objection.

Attendees

Commission Members:

51% of membership (at least 4 members) attending in person is required to meet quorum

Fredericksburg City	Spotsylvania County
✓ Dr. Timothy Duffy, Chairman ✓ Mr. Mark Whitley	✓ Dr. Deborah Frazier, Vice Chairman☐ Mrs. Amy Swift
Stafford County	Legal Counsel
✓ Dr. Pamela Yeung✓ Ms. Donna Krauss	☐ Mr. Brendan Hefty☐ Mr. Bill Hefty
	Staff and Committee Members:
✓ Mr. Davy Fearon, Jr., Executive Director ✓ Mrs. Melanie Lee, Secretary	☐ Mrs. Amy DeMatteo, Alternate Secretary